DJ JIMMY JATT IN TERRIBLE AUTO CRASH

lucky to be alive…   

It was a few minutes past 2.am, local time in Lagos Nigeria.

The country’s most iconic disc jockey, DJ Jimmy Jatt was holding a cup of red wine, sipping excitedly and exchanging banters with friends. Seated at the lobby of the Night club inside Planet One hotels, Jimmy was in the mood to celebrate.

 

Few hours earlier, ‘Stylee’, the lead single off his career-defining mix-tape ‘Definition’ had been named ‘Best Collabo’ at the 2008 hip hop world awards. The song’s video, directed by DJ T, was also named ‘Best Music Video, at the keenly contested awards. Jatt has worked hard for all the recognition he’s getting. But everyone knows he’s not gotten all the recognition he deserves. But tonight, sorry, in the early hours of Sunday March 16, the itinerant DJ was in no mood to complain.

 

And it’s not just because he’s getting applause for the work of his hands. Jimmy is happy, grateful to God for sparing his life, after a very serious auto accident in the early hours of Saturday March 15.

 

He told me, as we stood side by side, exchanging notes, over our impression of the third edition of HHWA 2008, that ‘I’m lucky to be here. I crashed my GMC this morning. If you see the car, you won’t believe it. It’s a complete write-off.

 

According to him, ‘I had already gotten home the night before. I was relaxing when a call came in from some of my friends who were visiting from South Africa. They were bored, and thought I was the only one that could take them round Lagos. So I had to go pick them up. We went round, and I later dropped them off at their lodge in GRA, Ikeja. I knew I was tired, ‘cos I didn’t sleep at all the night before. But I hit Ikorodu road, driving very slowly just in case there was a broken-down truck on the way. I don’t know what happened, but I musty have dosed off. When I opened my eyes, my four airbags were out, my car had climbed a culvert, and it was an electric pole that stopped it’.

 

‘The impact was serious. Let’s say I was lucky to have had my seatbelt on; and that my airbag was working. God saved me; if not, we would have been saying something else now.’

 

Jimmy bought the GMC SUV from the US in 2005. With customized number plate J.JATT, the blue jeep has in a few years, become part of the DJ’s identity, even though he has other cars.

 

 

‘This is my first accident since I’ve been driving’, he told AyeniTheGreat regrettably. ‘And I’ve been driving since I was 14…’

  

16 Responses to “DJ JIMMY JATT IN TERRIBLE AUTO CRASH”

  1. Thank God for leaving my Jatt out of dis, I really love this guy plus thank God i voted for the right person I knew he was gonna cop those awards cos they are meant for him. One love jo, continue the pace we all in full support

  2. kayode omotosho Says:

    We thank God for Jimmy’s life.To HIM be glory and honor!

  3. efemena adabamu Says:

    thank God for his life.God is a miraculous God and he wil never put badnews in our mouth.Jimmy Jatt,this is like the beginning of ur bigg days….Aww….i loved dat ride.I remember how humble this man was when i intervied him for XTREME MAGAZINE IN 2006…..

  4. This is a word of warning to drivers out there- Never deceive or cheat nature! If you feel you’re not up to driving, don’t drive, period. Don’t say cos you want to drive your friends or you wanna be a nice person and impress people. This sort of accident puts lives at risk everyday here in the west. Thank God for his life and for the fact that the car had a airbag. Otherwise, we’d be singing another tune.

  5. Jimmy Jatt, your time has not come and we bless God that you alife today. Bless Him always bcos every second accounts.

  6. i Just thanked God for sparing ur life. But pls as a DJ, u do a lot of nights. pls make sure u take care of ur self, as to what u do.
    get well and kudo
    dgysoft

  7. adeyemi osonowo Says:

    Please can i have your number?

  8. BLOK Charity…

    […]DJ JIMMY JATT IN TERRIBLE AUTO CRASH « All You Ever Need In Entertainment[…]…

  9. With many of our Memorial Day activities being held Wednesday, there will be businesses closed and people with that day off, too.
    You may also enjoy – Dating When Separated – Social Etiquette & Manners for
    Socializing – Guyanese Pepper Pot Recipe Secrets. He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, so that we might
    die to sins and live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed.

  10. Have you ever considered publishing an e-book or guest authoring
    on other sites? I have a blog based on the same
    information you discuss and would really like to have you share
    some stories/information. I know my readers would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

  11. Many dealerships today will access the many different lenders that have very different requirements
    for a debt consolidation companies, regardless of your score, the ease of
    obtaining this interest rate can be somewhat limited. A steady and sufficient income could
    get you that bad credit debt consolidation companies Milwaukee.

  12. Certainly there are However, if there is rusting.
    For most of us the option to spread your repayments over different
    lengths of time. loan consolidation with bad credit payment estimators can
    estimate what your monthly payments. Lowering the interest
    rate charged and any other fixed monthly payments.

  13. If you’re really in need of a new credit card debt reduction then most probably you failed to do your own comparison shopping. Some of our cash advance stores can even wire cash directly to your account in one hour! If you want to do is enter into a contract with a predatory lender.

  14. More importantly, you have access to the best deals on used debt
    consolidation loans michigans online could be got.

  15. By following this general hypoglycemia debt relief guideline you will greatly decrease
    your chances of lasting longer in the bedroom. Just 5-10 almonds would be a lie.

    This is a simple and tasty switch that can turn your Minute Man
    tendencies completely around, and have the potential
    to cause infertility and promote breast cancer in adult women.

  16. Thanks for another wonderful post. The place else may anyone get that
    type of info in such an ideal method of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am at the search for such information.

Leave a Reply

